Bacon, Spinach and Cheese Bread Cob

Posted: December 19, 2010 in Recipes

So haven’t made one of these for years and I mean years, did some Google searches but couldn’t find the recipe I wanted so made my own.

350g Bacon I used just the middle part

250g Spinach – squeeze any water out

1 onion chopped up, cloves of garlic use what you think best

I packet of spring vege soup mix I got at IGA.

300 carton sour cream ( I ended up using more to make it runnier)

300g creamed cheese (this is philly I just used home brand) , 1 cup of grated cheese. Cob of bread. Chopped Chives about 1/3 cup.

Fry together bacon, onion and garlic, when nice and brown add spinach.  In saucepan add sour cream, creamed cheese, cheese, and packet of soup mix.  Mix it all together in saucepan so nice and warm.

With the bread cob, slice the top off the loaf.  Remove the bread from the center to make a bowl.  Heat bread and the bit you scoped out in the oven.  When ready to serve put the the mixture into cob loaf and serve.  I cut up more bread as I used an long loaf and had less of a whole to dig.

This is really rich. I would probably experiment with different type of chesses, but is delicious as is.

Yum Yum.

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. polly-anna mitchell says:

    Love this want it for dinner tonight

Leave a Reply

